Modernizing Marine Training

Hi gents,

I’m a systems engineer and recreational boater in Vancouver, BC and I am considering getting into the online marine training business. I’m posting in your forum for two reasons:

1. To get feedback on whether you think there is room in the marine training market for lower-priced, cloud-based simulation and training with capabilities and fidelity similar to what is found in marine schools today. (I have personally experienced contractors charging way too much for training systems largely because they can! I believe cloud-delivered simulation and training could be offered at a much lower price and reach way more mariners but I need guys like you to indicate there’s a need before I can do anything about it.)

2. To see if there are any Masters in the Vancouver area (or Seattle perhaps?) that would be interested in paid consulting on the topic once the need is confirmed.

Best regards,

Sean

To clarify what I mean by cloud-based simulation and training, I am referring to radar, AIS and ECDIS simulators running on relatively thin clients connecting to a virtual world running in the cloud. The basic premise of the idea is to reduce the burden on students who have to travel to their nearest marine school, pay room and board and course tuition to start or advance their careers. The burden would be reduced by doing some of the training upfront. It’s like online distance training but instead of just Powerpoint-type stuff students could actually learn by doing via simulation.

Surprised there haven’t been any responses to this … I’m not an expert on training, other than as a consumer, but I think ECDIS and Radar Observer both have assessment components and for that reason, and possibly others (such as hands-on equipment), may not be good candidates for distance learning.