MMP Inland Division to MMP Offshore

Figured its time I actually get involved on the forum here to see what useful information I can find. Been reading a lot and searching around and had a question I’d like to see if anyone can answer.

I’m a CMA grad who has been working for Crowley Valdez the last 4 years. Stayed right up til the end of Crowley’s Alaska contract sailing as Chief Mate. Now after a solid 2+ months of job searching I feel I’ve exhausted every single option possible. Joined the AMO list and have some good contacts there, but seems to be another dead end. Submitted countless applications, e-mails, voicemails, etc to every single maritime company I can think of. I check every sites career postings every day and am on LinkedIn and indeed and gCaptain job search every day.

So my question is this… after working for Crowley Valdez for 4 years I gained decent seniority with the MMP inland division, but that does’t seem to help me out at all in finding a new job. Has anyone transferred from MMP inland division in to the offshore division? I believe I would then have to start going to the hall of course, but could I transfer in with any seniority? Is it even worth a shot? I haven’t been able to get a clear answer on this from anyone in the union yet.

From what I have been told, the seniority does not transfer over between the different divisions of the union. I didn’t even know the inland group had levels of seniority…

I’ll have to check the rules again.