McAllister Towing of Virginia - Tow guys, Ship Docking Guys, and engineers needed

The title says it all… we need people. decent pay, great benefits.

http://www.mcallistertowing.com/jobs.htm

I’m a licensed chief engineer, unlimited HP, motor. What kind of money and benefits are they offering? Paid travel?

Dont know the money on the enginnering side, but wheelhouse isnt bad.

Travel is on a case by case basis, Ive got a ME guy and FLA guy, sometime the office buys the ticket, sometimes not.

Their insurance is great, less than $100 a week for a family plan, very low copays, vision, dental, and perscriptions.

What are they paying ab’s there, I have the license I just dont have a towing endorsment. And what kind of schedule are they working?

Do you think they are paying +/-$500 a day? Who is the contact to speak with at HR?

Cleveland: quite a nom de guerre! They pay a little less than that. But the travel pay is what makes the deal for some. Some guys get travel to and from. Some don’t. Some live close, some far away. It all depends on how bad (or good) a negotiator you are. But… they have been known to take travel away, make you work even time, then demand you work 2 for1 at the drop of a hat and take pay cuts if they shift you from different ports with a lower pay scale. But I have heard from two guys ( who they apparently like) that they get top pay and travel wherever they are sent! Again, a lot depends on your skill at negotiating before you agree to join, And how desperate they are for your license.
Good luck.

Cappy was right on alot of points.

The schedule is 2 and 2 for most boats, some out of town guys work a little different. No one here that I know of has had a pay cut, but then do play the shipyard game and move people around on occasion.

Ive been here almost 3 years and Im fairly happy. Im close to home(10mins), steady schedule, and the checks dont bounce…Ill take that all day long.