Maritime industry in film, print and TV?

Some rather unfortunate events have occurred in my life that I won’t trouble you all with but suffice it to say, I have now found myself free to pursue a long desired career at sea. I’ve been on this site for quite some time and in a effort to avoid any pointed sticks being brandished in my direction, I have taken the advice so readily dispensed here and have acquainted myself with and have liberally used the “search” button at the upper right of the screen.

I do have a question for you however that I hope you all will find worthy of my first post. I have had several different types of jobs on my way here, each with their own list of popular culture interpretations in movies, books and TV. For instance, when I was a paramedic, if someone showed up to the station having never seen “Mother, Jugs and Speed” or “Bringing Out the Dead”, they would have been mercilessly jabbed with that industry’s version of the pointy stick shortly before being forced to watch all the standards in succession and given a reading list to take home.

What would each of you say are the best (or worst) depictions of the maritime industry in film or print?

Don’t worry, I already have a copy of the Merchant Seaman’s Manual. I’m not looking for facts or advice, so much as entertainment and depictions of the industry that you all hold near and dear, or with great loathing.

Thank you all kindly. I have really appreciated all the wisdom you all share so freely here and have found it greatly helpful on my path to this career. I’ll let you know how it goes.

once upon a time in them old timey daze, Miller had a series of commercials showing working class stiffs doing interesting jobs which included log bronc’ng at a sawmill and harbor assist work on a tug. They were great and I remember those fondly even today. “One mistake and you have 10000 tons of scrap metal on your hands”

Went to the Ewetoobs and found this one…

//youtu.be/Vj-lYM5GCQg