Maritime employment - I need a change

Okay guys, I need a change. I want to move to the gulf and would like to get on with crew boats. I have no experience but have been on the water all my life and I have my 50 ton masters. I know I will have to start at the bottom but where? I’ve looked at Texas Crewboats, Tidewater Marine. etc… Any other suggestions. Thanks

Hi Dillard, Try G.O.L. in Raceland LA and International Marine in La Rose LA. Both I think are hiring but the 50 ton license might be a problem. If you have an AB then you have a better chance with that. Good Luck

Thank you very much!!!

Crew boats have no need for AB’s. They hire unlicensed deck crew. Having an AB will look good, but with crew boats not hiring, it really won’t make that much difference I don’t think. Also, paying around $1800 for the 3 classes needed to get an AB isn’t chump change, if it doesn’t mean anything when looking for a job. Boats over 100 tons use AB’s. Crew boats which are essentially ALL under 100 tons don’t need them.

Only the tiniest little bay crew boats will use a 50 ton license. Upgrade to 100 ton to drastically increase your marketability. That said, even with a 100 ton, it is pretty bleak.

There are those of us with plenty of experience in crew boats who can’t get jobs. Loads of crews are laid-off.

You definately need to upgrade to a 100 ton. Maybe you could get on with a dredge company working on that 50 ton. My advice, also get at least a Z-card an AB if possible, expand your marketability, be willing to accept a lower position at a better company, it will be worth it in the long run. Start networking immediately, get out there and present yourself as competent, motivated and READY TO WORK. Do this repeatedly. It takes experience and word of mouth to get hired right now. If you don’t have those all you have left is grit and determination. That has been sufficient for many. If you are not standing in front of the HR guy forget it.