Looking at attending maritime academy

hey my names aaron this is my first time on gcaptain…Im in the navy as an engineer right now but should be getting out within the next year. I’d like to attend a maritime academy but im not sure which one is best for me and which one will most likely except me. Ive already done the whole military thing so a school that has the most relaxed style in that aspect would be ideal. Just from talking to MSC mates that I work with im told Cal maritime is most likely my best bet, but I know I dont meet all their requirements so im just hoping someone can give some guidance or advice on their experiences with any of the academies. Thanks!

What requirements do you not meet?

At Texas Maritime with prior military you can be in what they call “victor company”, and not really participate in much of the Corp type stuff. Basically you don’t have to live on campus, or have to do anything Corp related except for wearing the Uniform, and going to formation only 2 days a week. Thats it!

1 Like

SUNY has a similar deal for ex military. You do INDOC which is a joke compared to military boot camp. Then you wear the uniform and make one formation a week, you can live on or off campus.

SUNY has a good engineering program if that is what you are interested in.

A few of the credits listed under prereq’s on their website I dont have like 2 years of foreign language, performing arts etc. im sure they can wave some of it I just need to contact admissions, and I’m not sure if I want to continue on the engineering path im looking into the marine transportation side still in the air though. thanks for the help! anyone else with any thoughts feel free…