Kinda dumb question about uniforms

I got out of the navy a little while ago and I saw something that madee wonder. I saw some guys wearing what looked like officers uniforms for the navy but had merchant marine caps. I believe. It was very bizarre. Anyway what caught me was the lack of military badges but the same uniforms. Like I said I was navy so I know the officers uniforms quite well. I was wondering what’s the deal with the merchant marines uniform. Is this just for who goes to the academy I would assume or is it a uniform a specific shipping line issues. Does anyone with an mmc have the right to walk around in one of these uniforms? I just found it odd when I saw them

What uniform was it exactly? It might have been some MSC officers if your are writing about khaki…

I’m a civilian deck officer for NOAA. I wear Khaki.

it was the usual military dress blues, double breasted with a black combination cap with a merchant marine insignia, cuff rank markings but not the usual star of the navy on the cuffs. It just seemed weird, like it was almost a navy uniform but not quite. just curious if this is standard merchant marine wear that any licensed captain or whatever could wear or if there is some other service im’ not aware of. like i said it just caught my eye after being in the navy as being like someone was wearing half a navy uniform kinda thing.

Where were these guys walking? On some vessel? Ashore? You have come upon one of the quirks of the merchant marine! Almost anyone can ‘call’ themselves a Captain. With a little sleuthing on the internet they can find out how many bars they have ‘earned’ and can go to any uniform shop and buy an outfit befitting their perceived ‘position.’

I would not be surprised if you saw a couple yacht club admirals out for a stroll in their yacht club uniforms! Putting on the dog as it were! But then again, it could have been an actual Captain wearing what he wears at work.