Just graduated 3rd mate - start as AB or mate?

i’m a january grad and in the market for work, i have a friend working for sante fe, though an engineer he likes it, and some on tugs. i’m not sure which way to go, theres the DPO on rigs, or small vessel captains on tugs which can be obtained faster than the unlimited. i would say i am more skilled in “the books” as a mate on the training ship told me, not great at marlinespike seamanship, but i can do it, but great at navigation. also, i hear differing opinions on wether to start as an AB or a mate… i don’t care about getting dirty or making slightly less money, i’m wondering if the experience you get working alongside other AB’s is really much better than that of a mate?

Argo-Why can’t you work alongside other AB’s as a 3rd Mate? If I could get on as a 3rd Mate I would start there. As a 3rd Mate you will be supervised at all times anyway. You should anyway. There are lots of benefits to working on the deck before being in the wheelhouse, but being in the wheelhouse doesn’t mean you can’t go on the deck. We just got a 3rd AE from Maine maritime and he is doing well here. He has some other buddies he graduated with that are not so happy on smaller vessels with less horsepower. If you are interested in OSV’s let me know and I can point you in the right direction. Sante Fe would be a great place to start. Not to long ago Polar tankers were looking for some thirds on rigzone.com Regardless, you should do what you think fits best for you.

Nothing wrong with going out as an AB then move up to Mate, especially if it’s on the same vessel, at least you’ll know policy and bridge layout well before you stand your first mate watch. Although Lee is right that you “should be” supervised/broken-in as a new 3rd mate, it doesn’t always happen that way. In fact, if a AB opportunity presents itself and has upward mobility I would recommend you do go this route as it can’t hurt.