Mooring lines & safety

I’m an academy grad sailing on my first ship as an AB, because of my license I will probably be moving up to 3rd mate on my ship soon. Recently saw a degloving incident while tying up, and it seems like it could have easily been avoided if the mate who was stern PIC knew a bit more about what was going on. I’m new to this forum, and was wondering if anyone could recommend some reading/training videos that I could use to understand tying up more. I’ve seen a few lines snap already and honestly I’m pretty intimidated by them, and I’m worried that when I’m the stern PIC my hesitation will make me fumble the ball. (I tried asking my chief mate for some tips, he pretty much just brushed me off.)

I don’t know that you can study that topic more than you have already (reread the mooring section in American Merchant Seaman’s Manual). It really takes experience and having sense.

Dunno whether you’ll find this Navy video of any use. It’s about synthetic line snap-back.

4 Likes

Is it normal on ships to just point at something dangerous and say “figure it out”? I sure don’t do that with dinghy sailors not used to dealing with lethal loads on lines.

Seen a few lines snap already? I’ve only seen 2 part in 15 years. Time for a new ship.

1 Like

Yes, the danger varies wildly from trade to trade doesn’t it?

Four decades of sailing around the world, mostly in the Aleutians, doing wild-ass cargo transfers anchored in open roadsteads in gales, with mooring lines snapping frequently, we’ve hardly seen even minor mooring-line injuries. Ironically, the only serious one I’ve seen was returning to Vallejo on my second cruise as a cadet.

1 Like