Joining SIU union

Is there any way to join the Seafarers International Union without going to the school in Maryland?

1 Like

Call the Philly office

Yes but you will only be a C-book

You can join and sail Inland division on tugs, seagoing tugs and ATBs. You’ll still be C book if you try to ship deep sea.

Will having only entry level ratings hurt me? I also don’t have a STCW yet. I have 5 years offshore experience as a commercial diver and anchor handler so I never needed a MMC. I have a twic card already.

any info will help

I only have entry level ratings and no STCW yet. I have 5 years offshore as a commercial diver and an anchor handler so I never needed my Merchant Mariners Credential. Will this hurt me with the union?

I have an entry level Merchant Mariners Credential. No STCW. I have pervious experience offshore totaling 5 years but was never required to have a z-card. Will this hurt me with the union?

Most of Crowley on the right side is SIU. They’ve those Ocean Wave class DP tugs coming out. Heard that Jensen failed to actually make them perform up to the standards they advertised though.

[QUOTE=injunear;94945]You can join and sail Inland division on tugs, seagoing tugs and ATBs. You’ll still be C book if you try to ship deep sea.[/QUOTE]

Yeah, I was forced to join the SIU when I signed on with Crowley back in the old days.

If you are just beginning to sail the i would recommend going to the school, I attended the school in 08 and it sucks while your there but it is a great school. you come out a much better sailor than 90% of the people that didnt go, if you take advantage of everything they have to offer (no one get offended by that). you just have to look past all the union bull sh!+ they try and push into your head. but if your already experienced non union companies now adays have just as much to offer if not better benefits etc. trying to get with them is the tough part. good luckk keep us posted