Jobs for Non-US citizen 3rd Mates?

I am a US Maritime Academy graduate with a US Green card, Panama & Marshall Island’s 3/M CoC.
Tried to ship out with cruise ship companies but obviously they are no longer hiring.

I reside in the US and am wondering if there are any unions I can join or any potential shipping companies that would hire me…

Thank you for any advice in advance.

No US officer’s union will have any billets for you without a US license. Your only option is to sail foreign flag.

You could join SIU and ship as an AB, you’ll probably make more doing that than shipping foreign flag as an officer.

Im looking forward to sail 2-3 years for experience and study Maritime Law so Ill most likely look for foreign flag offier positions… thank you

Sailing AB with SIU or SUP might be a very good opportunity for you, both in terms of experience and money.

All the drill rigs are foreign flag. They hire 3rd mates.

There are a lot of foreign vessels that work in the US oil patch under waivers. Recruiting and manning companies like Complete Logistical Services, WRS, Faststream, Oceanwide, etc place temporaries on these vessels.

Some of the US OSV companies have some foreign flag vessels.

I don’t know if MSC will hire ABs with a green card.

There are companies like Tote that have foreign flag branches (Tropical Shipping), and Crowley has foreign flag vessels. There are others.

Nice to see someone with ambitions!!!
I took the liberty to look you up on LinkedIn. With your background and ability to handle three languages (English, Korean and Chinese) you should have a world of opportunities in front of you.

As for getting some seatime on your CV before moving on you should not have much problems as long as you are not hung up in which flag and “filmstar wages”.