Is there a black list?

I worked as a deckhand for the Woods Hole Oceanographic inst. for eight years. A year ago
a friend of mine, a young girl just out of maritime school, was being harassed openly and
consistently by the chief engineer. I asked a member of the department (an oiler) what was
going on and he told me, straight out, that he and the chief were trying to get the girl to quit.
Turns out the chief had promised the job to the oiler in question, his only friend on the ship.
This is a young, inexperienced third and she was afraid to take it to the captain, so I went
to the bridge as her advocate. Nothing between us; I just thought she was getting a raw deal.
The captain didnā€™t want to hear it, told me to bury it and refused the investigate the issue.
So i cornered the chief and told him I knew what he was up to. I told him he had to stop or
heā€™d deal with me on the dock. Bad move, i know. Long story short, the captain wrote me
up for disrespect and I was fired for creating ā€˜a threatening work environment.ā€™ Okay, I blame
myself. I screwed up, handled it badly and got what i probably deserved. Up to that point I
had a stellar record: great evaluations and a recent promotion. But the hundred or so resumes
Iā€™ve sent out have elicited a deafening silence. Iā€™ve heard rumors of a black list from time to time.
Is it possible my sailing career is just flat out over?

As Marty used to sayā€¦ Verrrrrryy Interrrresting! God, am I dating myself! anyway.

YES there is a black list. Although it is not as black as you may think!