Introduction and Advice on how to start

Hello all,
My name is Vance W. I am 22 years old and have always been interested in this type of lifestyle. With work at my local port slowing I figured it was a good time to try and make a change. I have worked at my port for the last two and a half years loading and unloading boats but have never been on a vessel off of port. I have my twic card and have also just recently got my mmc. I have no experience, other than talking to captains and deckhands that come in my port, about the offshore life or how to actually get started. Most that come into my port are from other countries and dont have much advice. Someone recommended this site to me and although im very familiar with forums I seem to be fairly lost here with all of the terminology and such.

Anyways, im near pensacola fl right now as its where I was raised but have some family over in loisianna. I first thought I could just go visit louisianna and stumble upon a job, but that seems very unlikely. If anyone has any advice on how to go about starting a career id be glad to listen. I am a very hard worker and have always moved up in my work enviroment very quickly.

All the answers your looking for have already been discussed just use the search function.

Check out the employment section…knocking on doors in Louisiana as a keyword

[QUOTE=VanceW;97920]Hello all,