International endorsement?

Anyone know what this is? I received an email from the coast guard saying that my international endorsement was approved and being mailed to me?!?!

I called them and got the usual run around and no real answer. I guess I will have one though even though I don’t know what it is and I don’t know that I even applied for it.

I have a 200 ton master if that matters and a limited AB

[QUOTE=blaineatk;118994]Anyone know what this is? I received an email from the coast guard saying that my international endorsement was approved and being mailed to me?!?!

I called them and got the usual run around and no real answer. I guess I will have one though even though I don’t know what it is and I don’t know that I even applied for it.

I have a 200 ton master if that matters and a limited AB[/QUOTE]

STCW. The NMC evaluators are a bit insulated and aren’t always aware that very few others use the same terminology they do. It’s your STCW endorsement.

I have all my stcw as far as basic safety stuff. So, does this endorsement have anything to do with working overseas? What qualified me for it?

I may be missing the point of it…

[QUOTE=blaineatk;119007]I have all my stcw as far as basic safety stuff. So, does this endorsement have anything to do with working overseas? What qualified me for it?

I may be missing the point of it…[/QUOTE]

You asked what the international endorsement is, I told you. I have no idea what you applied for or what NMC is sending you. Contact NMC directly, no one here will know anything more than I have told you.

Got ya, appreciate it.

I did contact them, they simply repeated “international endorsement” to me. The STCW part is still more information than I had before so, thanks.

I guess I’ll figure it out when I get home.

I got the same emails, wondering what will be on the stickers that will show up in the mail.