I want to go merchant marine

I’m currently a truck driver seriously interested in becoming a merchant marine(apprenticeship through union, not academy). The one thing I was worried about was my knee. I tore my meniscus a few years ago. The knee is generally fine but when using it too much or too intensely then it becomes a problem. For example if I play basketball or soccer. I also had a seasonal job delivering for ups in a very hilly neighborhood and it became an issue. Another thing to consider is that wearing heavy boots is hard on the knee so I’d prefer a lighter hiking shoe instead of steel toe boots. (I was wearing boots at ups).

Would I be ok with not wearing steel toe boots at most companies? Do you think I’d have a problem going through an apprenticeship with the seafarers union // being able to do the job of an ordinary seaman or able bodied seaman? Again the knee is mostly ok except when using it too much with heavier footwear.

Almost all shipping companies require safety shoes. Normally, the particular shoe is up to you, but are required to have a safety toe and be slip/oil resistant (ANSI Z41-1999 standard, I believe).

As an entry level mariner, regardless of department (deck, engine, steward), you can expect to spend considerable time on your feet.

I’d also add that you will be working on steel which is more unforgiving on your joints than concrete.

Any entry level unlicensed job is physically demanding and there are not enough crew onboard to take up the slack when someone can not pull their full weight. This has not stopped a lot of physically unfit people from trying though. You sound like you are at least concerned at how you may perform so that’s a lot more conscientiousness than most you will encounter.

3 Likes

Dr.Scholl’s-Naproxen-Ibuprofen-composite toes-pace yourself.

Well every truck company both otr and ltl that I’ve worked for has said officially that you some sort of work boot.