How much experience is needed to land an offshore Etech postition?

First off let me say I appreciate you all considering this question. I am also curious as to which companies are to be avoided and which are good. I would also like to know what certifications would be helpful to my job search.I have an AAS in Electronics and am currently working in the oilfield onshore as an Etech with the busiest oilfield service company in West Texas. I have almost two years experience as of today, most of which is as a field tech. I am experienced in electrohydraulics, instrumentation and controls, and currently work on cementing, fracturing and coilled tubing equipment. I also have equipment networking experience (JLAN). I am also certified in fiber optics with the ETA, and have the CET certification from ISCET. I am also hold a GROL license with the Radar endorsement, and the GMDSS Maintainer’s license, although I have no formal experience working on radios. I am planning on getting a passport and applying for a TWIC card in the near future.Is there any other certifications that I need to get my foot in the door? How much more experience do I need to be a viable candidate? Thanks, Paul

Not sure which area you are looking at getting into, but the oil companies are looking for ET’s. I know many on here will balk at this but Noble will give you a chance. Pacific Drilling is also looking for ET’s. You can go on Rigzone and search for Electronics Technician and then submit resume to who ever looks good to you.

[QUOTE=Wrecker3;115154]Not sure which area you are looking at getting into, but the oil companies are looking for ET’s. I know many on here will balk at this but Noble will give you a chance. Pacific Drilling is also looking for ET’s. You can go on Rigzone and search for Electronics Technician and then submit resume to who ever looks good to you.[/QUOTE]