ECDIS Grandfather

Aloha from Maui All,

I graduated from CMA in 2003, and I believe we were the first class to have approved Transas ECDIS in our curriculum. When I did my last renewal in 2020 I did not send in proof of ECDIS training to meet eh new 2017 requirement to have it on my MMC as I was sailing tugs and didn’t need it and had no plans to ever need it.

Fast forward to the Lahaina fire, lost my tour business, and now need ECDIS to sail with Matson. It says on my license “not valid for vessels equipped with ECDIS.” This is the first of my many MMC’s in the last 20 years to say this.

So I sent in an application to have the restriction removed along with letters from the CMA Captain at the time (and the lady in charge of records) stating my approved ECDIS training. Just in case I also sent a copy of USCG Policy letter 12-07 which states:

“The Coast Guard has been approving ECDIS courses for several years in anticipation of a
future requirement for ECDIS training, and will continue to do so. Previously approved
courses will be accepted to meet any new requirements. Mariners who have completed
Coast Guard approved or accepted ECDIS courses in the past will not need to take
additional training.”

It was my understanding that they would approve my previous ECDIS training as per that paragraph. I was wrong, they did not accept it. Do any of my fellow mariners have any insight into this? The woman in charge of Honolulu REC, Erika, thought i would be good to go no problem…what say you?

1 Like

CMA was not approved for ECDIS for the class of 2003. CMA was not approved for ECDIS until after 2013. The approval for CMA in effect from 2002 to 2007 did not include ECDIS:

Any cadet successfully completing the entire four-year deck program and presenting your Training Record Book with all required assessments and entries completed will: