Don't even bother with SIU as a C book!

I went to the SIU Wilmington hall a few months ago and they told me they had some jobs available for a C book if I got my MSC certs so $1400 and over a month later I put in for a steward assistant just to get some work and am denied because they said I don’t have enough training… nevermind the fact I merry all requirements and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to prep food and clean toilets… the port agent was cool to me but said it’s our of his hands. Meanwhile this boat is sitting in long Beach waiting to be crewed. Makes no sense. I paid my dues which means I am a member and they SHOULD have an obligation to find me work or at the very least ALLOW Me to work. Don’t even boost with SIU.

This is where unions leave a bad taste in my mouth. No wonder people get so discouraged trying to get their foot in the door.

[QUOTE=Toussaia;176602]I went to the SIU Wilmington hall a few months ago and they told me they had some jobs available for a C book if I got my MSC certs so $1400 and over a month later I put in for a steward assistant just to get some work and am denied because they said I don’t have enough training… nevermind the fact I merry all requirements and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to prep food and clean toilets… the port agent was cool to me but said it’s our of his hands. Meanwhile this boat is sitting in long Beach waiting to be crewed. Makes no sense. I paid my dues which means I am a member and they SHOULD have an obligation to find me work or at the very least ALLOW Me to work. Don’t even boost with SIU.[/QUOTE]

What exactly is your Steward Department rating on your credentials. If it doesn’t include F.H. (Food Handler) you can not sail in the Steward Department. This use to be an automatic endorsement but changed as of 2011.

You didn’t say what endorsements you had nor what was required by the SIU for that steward assistant job.

It doesn’t matter now, they got his money already.