Delaware Captain looking to Relocate South-- Career Advice wanted

My name is Braydan Graham and I am a 23 y/o recent college graduate (environmental-marine science) with a Merchant Mariner Credential (25GRT upon Inland Waters, OS, Wiper, FH). I have spent my previous 5 summers (Memorial Day-Labor Day) working on Delaware’s inland bays to gain sea time at a boat rental/watersports company until I obtained my MMC roughly a year ago. I also have my TWIC and am currently working on my FCC MROP. I have worked as a captain on sunset cruises, tubing rides, sandbar charters, fishing trips, etc. I have some experience offshore but not enough sea time for Near Coastal.

Post summer 2023 I have a desire to relocate to somewhere in Palm Beach County, FL. I have a friend who works on yachts in Ft. Lauderdale and a few other friends in Boca Raton working in a few marinas.

I am asking for advice on how to find a solid job down anywhere from Jupiter to Ft. Lauderdale. I understand only having an Inland license is limiting but I’m open to working on other vessels to gain more sea time, whether that means yachts or vessels up to 50’ like I do in Delaware.

Are there jobs on the ICW? Parasailing, watersports, charter boats? Should I pay to do STCW training to become more qualified? What’s the best way to approach companies about potential employment in September? I am good friends with a few Key West parasail captains also and want to reach out to them to see if they have connections in Palm Beach County. If anyone could help point me in the right direction that would be great.

Thank you all in advance and I’m happy to be a part of the forum.

What’s a Master Capt?

3 Likes

Why haven’t you been working on tugs on the Delaware River , what are you tubing around the canels in lewes , de. Master capt must be his license plate

1 Like