Dann Ocean Towing

Hello All,

I have secured an OS position at Dann Ocean Towing, and am curious to hear about the pay scale aboard their tugboats, as I plan on becoming a 3rd mate hopefully sooner than later. Does anyone work for them on here/know someone who does?

[B][U]IMHO[/U][/B]…first off congrats and good luck on your quest!!don’t mean to piss in your garden but click here: http://www.uscg.mil/nmc/checklists/MCP-FM-NMC5-19%203rd%20Mate%20AGT.pdf?list1=checklists%2FMCP-FM-NMC5-19+3rd+Mate+AGT.pdf&B1=GO%21 …note the tonnage requirement…most US tugs are <200grt…that said an OS position on a offshore tug is a good start…BE SAFE & BEST LUCK!!

I am a recent Maine grad trying to get my foot in the door. My license is a 1600 near coastal with a TOAR.

con 'grad’ulations just be aware that a favorite Dann trick is to say you are an ordinary, then when they ‘need’ you as an A.B. they forget to pay you your A.B wages. Then when it is convenient they dump you back to O.S.

But in your position, get some good time under your belt, then look for better paying jobs. Right now is not a time to be too choosy, just forewarned is forearmed.

Heard the phrase repeated: We don’t hire A.B’s at Dann. We only hire O.S’s… Until they need one!

[QUOTE=chilpepr86;48034]I am a recent Maine grad trying to get my foot in the door. My license is a 1600 near coastal with a TOAR.[/QUOTE]

If you’ve never worked deck on a tugboat, prepare to start there. No company is gonna let you drive their boat if you can’t tell a deckhand what to do & safely do it.

[QUOTE=Tugted;48082]If you’ve never worked deck on a tugboat, prepare to start there. No company is gonna let you drive their boat if you can’t tell a deckhand what to do & safely do it.[/QUOTE]