Considering joining out of college

I’m considering joining MSC out of college and was wondering what positions would be available to me. I graduate Spring 2014 and my major is in Electrical engineering technology and I plan on taking the FE test in April. I was talking to somebody who was in MSC earlier today and he told me, after I told him I was considering joining out of college, that I’d want to apply for MSC. He said that I’d most likely have to start as a Wiper and my degree and a FE license would mean nothing.

Questions:

1. Is he right in saying that my degree means nothing?
  2. Where can I go to get more information on this?

Check out sealiftcommand.com. Your degree should help you to get hired in as a 2nd Electrician. I would try that and avoid coming in as a Wiper or SU. The $$$ at MSC is great and even the SUs who sweep the deck and make coffee are making more that most of your shore side engineering buddies who you graduated with. Sail as 2nd Elec for a while and then go sit for your 3rd AE license.

[QUOTE=hougigo;121513]I’m considering joining MSC out of college and was wondering what positions would be available to me. I graduate Spring 2014 and my major is in Electrical engineering technology and I plan on taking the FE test in April. I was talking to somebody who was in MSC earlier today and he told me, after I told him I was considering joining out of college, that I’d want to apply for MSC. He said that I’d most likely have to start as a Wiper and my degree and a FE license would mean nothing.

Questions:

2. Where can I go to get more information on this?[/QUOTE]

http://www.ecfr.gov/cgi-bin/text-idx?c=ecfr&SID=6ca83dc3f2ccdacbcaaab047cfca9bd1&rgn=div8&view=text&node=46:1.0.1.2.11.5.7.9&idno=46

DON’T go to work for MSC!

MSC says they is be the “employer of choice”. That is what they sold me on. I like MSC because of all the free stuff we get. If it’s free it is for me.