Censorship

Well first I just wanna say that to even post about this issue I needed to make a 2nd account. But I think it needs to be said that there has obviously been censorship on this forum recently. Certain topics disappear, some get locked and fade away, and certain voices get silenced. I’m just saying this is America and we just had 9/11 and freedom should reign in this country. My 2 cents anyways.

4 Likes

First of all, I basically agree with you: a couple of times recently, threads have been locked that I might have liked to chime in on.

On the other hand, this is not America. Your keyboard might happen to be in America, but this is the Internet. Further, its a privately owned site. I’m no lawyer, but I think that even in America, the written word for public consumption is freedom of the press: meaning you can own some kind of publishing media and say what you like with it.

8 Likes

Gcaptain can do whatever it wants. It has first amendment rights just like everyone else. But I think we should acknowledge that this is not just a user generated forum controlled by the users. There is a strong editorial hand working above the forum. It’s all controlled. Again, every right do whatever they want. My point is just pointing out that certain important topics are being deleted.

What exactly was locked/deleted?

I’m assuming they’re talking about the spamming for traffic to the maritime legal aid site.

When everything you post is something from your blog, that’s exactly what it is, spam. There’s another member that used to do this with his conspiracy theories and received the same stern talk I’m hoping the admin gave you as well. He’s still around but has “seen the light” about spamming the forums.