Celestial exam

I hold a Master 1600 O/C and just passed my 3rd Mate N/C. My question is this (is there anyway to get out of retesting for Celestial, and if not; what does the exam consist of) ?

[QUOTE=Captnstabn;84515]I hold a Master 1600 O/C and just passed my 3rd Mate N/C. My question is this (is there anyway to get out of retesting for Celestial, and if not; what does the exam consist of) ?[/QUOTE]

Take an approved celestial course and turn in your course certificate with your application for Oceans endorsement. Do your research and be sure you are taking an NMC approved course

You can only turn in the course certificate for 1600. For third unlimited you have to test at the coast guard.

[QUOTE=groessleriv;84519]You can only turn in the course certificate for 1600. For third unlimited you have to test at the coast guard.[/QUOTE]

This is exactly correct

[QUOTE=groessleriv;84519]You can only turn in the course certificate for 1600. For third unlimited you have to test at the coast guard.[/QUOTE]

I thought so, just looking for a possible loophole.

[QUOTE=Azimuth;84516]Take an approved celestial course and turn in your course certificate with your application for Oceans endorsement. Do your research and be sure you are taking an NMC approved course[/QUOTE]

This is NOT going to work. As others have already noted, there are no courses approved for 3rd Mate celestial. The approval of the course limiting it to mate 500/1600 will be strictly applied.

[QUOTE=Captnstabn;84515]I hold a Master 1600 O/C and just passed my 3rd Mate N/C. My question is this (is there anyway to get out of retesting for Celestial, and if not; what does the exam consist of) ?[/QUOTE]