Career Advice

How’s it going guys?

Need some advice/suggestions. I’m a 9 year veteran of the Coast Guard with 4 years of active service and the rest in the reserves. I’m also a member of the local fire department. Few months ago I was hurt at a fire to the point where I’m not allowed to fight fires anymore on a fire truck or fire boat. My injury has to do with my lungs, but my only issue is that I can’t take in toxic smoke as I did when I got hurt. I have no other issue. I can exercise normally. Only requirement from my doctor is to carry a rescue inhaler in case a situation arises. I have my QMED-Oiler. I’m considering leaving the department due to the fact that I don’t want to work in an office for the next 20 years in the fire department. I love working on and being on the water but want to make sure that I’m making the right decision and I consider every option/piece of advice. The Coast Guard doesn’t have an issue with me working in the reserves. I have a few options as to what I can do:

1. Collect disability which I technically qualify for in my state because I can’t do my job anymore but I don’t want to do this really as I’m still young.
  2. Stay in the Fire department until I can retire but work in an office environment. This is the safest route which ensures job security and covers me financially and medically if a situation arises in the future due to my accident.
  3. Work on the local ferry and start a career on the water and continue upgrading my license. I will take a decent pay cut which we can afford as long as I pursue upgrading my license in the future and eventually make up the difference.
  4. Start the path towards becoming a Stationary Engineer which pays more than both the fire department and ferry but not really my cup of tea.