Can't figure out the proper route for license

I’ve been working as an AB for about 6-7 years now. Initially on a 1600ton ferry and now on a 100ton tug boat. I’ve been looking at training facilities to get my Mates license (ive already taken basic and advanced fire fighting and Radar). i see there are courses for a 200ton mate upgrade from 100ton. i also see combined courses for 100ton master, 200ton mate, mate of towing. my question is: do I have to take my 100ton master before taking the 200ton mate? i always thought you could just take the highest tonnage that you qualify for. im trying to avoid taking more courses than i need since i’ll probably have to take time off from work. the 2/2 schedule doesnt allow for enough time to take all the classes. i want to bang it all out at once to cut down on travel and hotel.

also any school in the north east that are recommended? CMTI is looking like its got the best schedule. MPT is doable as well. i would love to find something closer to NY.

any help would be greatly appreciated, im struggling to find the answers on my own

Your better off going for the 1600 ton mate since you have the tonnage. And you will get a 100 ton master along with that i believe. Check SUNY maritime. They offer classes.

If you have enough time as AB on the 1600GRT ferry (180 days, I believe), go for mate 1600, if not, mate 500. 200 GRT gets you not much in the world. Master 100 GRT used to get you an easy $70k/year with a crappy schedule, but not so much since about a year ago. Good luck!