Any other hawswpipers?

I’m sure I can;t be the only one! How does the cost of state academies compare to paying for STCW classes now? I’m sure glad I got my 1600 master before the STCW was passed! I’m not sure I would be willing to go through all that 2 times, once was enough!!! Wondering what are the real differences in the STCW classes for limited licenses and for unlimited licenses. IMHO the unlimited classes were pretty basic…any thoughts?

This August will mark the end of a 2 year journey to complete my Chief Mate STCW training. If I had known before starting this journey that it would be this long or have such an impact on my family, I do not think I would have even started. The classes have all been pretty basic. The only ones I learned anything in were Weather and Cargo. Initially I was paying for all the classes, housing, travel and food. Eventually I got with a company that covers all the expenses of the classes. I do feel better off for taking the classes. I have a much better feel for the industry overall and have met some really nice people and some not so nice people. I have taken courses at Star Center in Dania Beach, FL., Mid-Atlantic Maritime Academy in Virginia and MITAGS in Maryland. It is funny when I started this I thought this would be it, but once I complete all these classes and get my chief mate license I have two more weeks of training to complete for my OIM. For all those Engineers out there beware…STCW is coming for you guys next.

I’ve advised every engineer and trainee to upgrade as soon as they get the time for several years. Ray Charles could see that the same people that screwed up the deck licenseing process will be gunning for the engineers next.

Hi JP,