Alaskan here. Just got my AB Unlimited, Tankerman assist, Lifeboat, VPDSD , RFPNW, etc

Background: I’m 37 years old. I used to work as a yacht chef/deckhand on some charter and private vessels. Worked all over the Americas. I took a shore gig up in Alaska managing a few culinary-based businesses in 2018.

Well, we all know that industry “shit the bed” due to covid. I realized in early 2020 I needed to switch it up. So I used my sea time and took the modules and some classes at the maritime vocational school up in Seward at AVTEC.

I got my
Able Seaman Unlimited
Lifeboatman
Tankerman Assistant
STCW RFPNW
STCW VPDSD
STCW PSC
STCW BT (PSSR, PST, CPR/First Aid, Basic Fire)
TWIC

I would be so grateful for your advice. I have some money saved up and I can travel to union hiring halls. I am very interested in becoming licensed someday. I love learning about navigation.

My question is. What would you do if you were me? I’m looking to hawsepipe for sure. Im willing to go deep sea, tugs, union, private, whatever. I’m wide open and flexible. No obligations or kids.

Again. so grateful for your time guys and gals!

1 Like

Use your contacts at AVTEC.

DO NOT forget to mention that you are a professional cook. Cooking is your primary strength and foot in the door.

If you want, private message your resume to me. I might know someone looking for a cook.

2 Likes

Since you are in alaska, i’d hit up the companies that work up there. Google tugboat companies + alaska and apply away. Vitus and Centerline would be great places to start if you are looking to be a tankerman. Centerline may have a deckhand/cook opening on one of their dutch harbor boats too…and if they don’t currently they seem to have steady turnover for that spot.

2 Likes

I’m pretty sure several companies on the Great Lakes are looking for Stewards.

1 Like

I tried to upload you my resume but it says new users can’t upload attachments. I just copied and pasted. Thank you so much again.

Derek Johnson