A little confused concerning AB requirements

As stated in a previous thread, I am a Master of Towing vessels for Rivers, Inland and Great Lakes. In my quest to go offshore, I found I need a MMD, and that my sea time qualifies me for AB Special. Besides the sea time, the application,and physical, do I need some sort of training? I enrolled in SeaSchool’s Able Seaman, any level, any waters prep for USCG approved exam and practical Marlinspike. It does not include lifeboat written or practical, nor RFPNW. Wayne from SeaSchool St. Pete said I would need lifeboat on my MMD, but is this class I enrolled in necessary? I am new to all this, and Marlinspike(other than the knife) is new to me. Should I just find a Lifeboat class to take? Class starts Monday in Bayou La Batre, so timely info would help. Thanks guys.

You will need Lifeboatman for any AB. If you are going offshore and will be working under STCW requirements you will also need the RFPNW with Assessments. The assessments need to be done whilst working on deck over a significant time period, 90 days I think. So you may have to go back on deck for while. The checklist shows the requirements.

For RFPNW, 6 months of sea going service.
A day of approved sea going service for qualification as a RFPNW is an 8 hour day,under training carrying out duties assosciated with navigational watchkeeping functions,under the direct supervision of the Master, OICNW or a qualified rating…

Also 50 % of the service must be performed on sea going vessels of at least 200 GRT and All steering and helm assessments must be completed on vessels of at least 100 GRT

It’s all in policy letter 14/02 on the NMC web site