A Few Rating Questions

Hello everyone,

I have done prior searching here abd elsewhere and am pretty sure I know the answer but just want to verify by asking people who have possibly traveled down the same path as me at one point.

Here are my questions:

I have a Masters Lic NC w/towing endors. I got my seatime for this license on yachts and personal recreational vessels in inland, near coastal, and offshore waters. I am hoping to, in a few months when I finish college, to get my AB Special and STCW BST in Ft. Lauderdale at MPT USA. Since I aquired my lic in 2010 I will, in Novemeber, have put in over 2 years on the water working for Towboat US. All of these vessels with TBUS are less than 30’ w/ various small gross tonnages. From my research I understand that I can qualify for an AB Special (360 days). I am not sure though, due to the heiracrchy of ratings. Am I only qualified for Lifeboatmen? There appears to be GT requirements for LBman and AB Limited, but none under AB Special. The answer may be obvious but I would like to be 100% sure before I go through the class/cost/paperwork.

So with over 5 years documented seatime on vessels up to 50 GT am I qualified for an AB Special?

Also, I intend to go to the GOM to get my foot in door, having no experience on large commerical workboats/ships. To work on the patch, do I need STCW BST?

Thank you to all for your answers, I realize these questions may be redundant but I want to verify my assumptions by asking them specifically related to my situation. I look forward to a career in the workboat industry and envy those of you who already are there!

– Ted

I believe you are confusing a Commercial Assistance Towing Endorsement with a TOAR & MOTV.
They are completely different things, not related at all.

Although BST isn’t required by law for everybody, it is a significant stepping stone to getting a job.

AB Unlmtd requires service on vessels over 200 tons.
All AB ratings require Lifeboatman.