Another Seatime an AB license question

Hello all,

I recently received my MMC in the mail, I got my Masters inland mate near coastal as well as my BST.
I have an opportunity for work in december but the company would like me to get my AB rating.
My question is this: can I go take the AB and Lifeboatman class and use the same seatime I used for my 100 ton?

I have the time according to the CG checklist for my AB Special (360 days), I did not see anywhere where there was size of vessel restrictions except for the AB Limited so as of now I am assuming I can go take these classes and then file for the rating using my previously filed seatime and then I will be issued the AB Special rating. Am I correct in this assumption.

I am really not trying to waste $2000 on classes while unemployed if the seatime for the AB had to be earned while currently holding an MMC. My seatime is half as an unlicensed deckhand on a 500 ton vessel and half small vessel sea service time.

Thanks for your time everyone!

I put in for AB after sailing as master and as far as I can remember that’s how it worked. Hopefully our resident expert, @jdcavo, will see this and confirm.

I believe seatime is seatime… take your lifeboatmen and you could probably sit for the ab test w/out spending money on an ab course if you already have your 100ton. You already know the material…just pay the $$ and you’re good.

In case you need it

1 Like

Yes you can.

1 Like

Thanks yall,

Appreciate the responses.

If you wanna save money don’t do the ab course. If you just passed your 100 grt, you should pass the test fine at the uscg rec center of your choosing.
You can buy a thumbdrive for around 100 bucks to study, practice all your knots and splicing, then be good to go.
The only requirement i recall for ab special (at least 20 years ago when i first got my ab) was your time needed to be on a vessel 65ft or larger.