500/1600 ton test

Has any one taken the exam recently ? trying to find out how difficult . I will be going from 200 ton master OICNW NC , and I am studying the Murphy books 2011 edition .

The problem with the Murphy Books, unless they have changed, is that it they are geared for unlimited tickets, and don’t separate the material for Master 1600. Mine ended up getting very little use.

I ended up using Capt. Joe’s, which allows you to print out solutions to study, and you do not need an internet connection or monthly fees, But that was a few years ago. Others swear by Lapware.

lapware. thats it and thats all.

Thanks for the info . I agree the murphy books would be alot better if they split the material up. Guess I will have to check out the lapware .

I’ve never tried lapware, I stick to Freelance Software.

http://www.hawsepipe.net/

Lapware! Enough said!

I tested two weeks ago. Lapware practice tests for the T-nav section were pretty spot on. I read the murphy books cover to cover to study deck safety and the generals. Captain Joes was nice also because it breaks down problems requiring formulas and figuring.

Lapware is all you need. Best study material I could find.

Just completed the upgrade from master 100 to master 500grt/3,000 itc OSV three weeks ago. I used lapware and can’t say enough about how good it is. Use it and you will not go wrong! It is a tough test. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Get lapware and study like crazy every spare minute that you have! If you have any questions, feel free to contact me anytime! Always glad to help someone trying to better themselves.

Lapware > hawspipe

seems like the lapware is everybodys favorite, but i just checked out the Capt.Joes site for the money it looks like a great product he also has a new 2013 edition with all the new USCG questions . I will probably use both I need all the help i can get !!!