1A/E Unlimited or 2nd Engineer Officer Upgrade Question

First Question: I am trying to upgrade to 1A/E Unlimited or 2nd officer upgrade. According to the checklist, I need to take ERM ( Engine Resource Management). I graduated from one of the Maritime academy in summer of 2017 after the gap closing stuff. Do I still need to take ERM? I have OICEW on my MMC but I dont have ERM and I thought that after 2017 all ERM was required with original licensing? I’m thinking that I took it and just forgot. I called NMC and they weren’t of any help.

Second Question: Whats the difference between Officers endorsement and rating? I need to take the 1A/E exam am I suppose to select the following?

Credential Category: Officer Endorsement Only
Type of Endorsement: Officer Raise of Grade $100
Examination/Test Fees: Officer upper level exam fee: $110
Issuance Fees: Pay MMC issuance fee now $45

Total $255 I thought Issuance is for original licensing only?

for the above, I could have selected Officer Endorsements and Rating Endorsements? I am not sure the difference. Thank you all for your help and assistance. Greatly appreciated.

Have you renewed your OICEW since it was first issued? If so, you should be good for ERM, if you were missing it, you would have had to show it then.

Fees apply for all national endorsement transactions, not just original issue.

You’re applying for 1st AE and don’t know if that is an officer or a rating endorsement? You should be able to figure it out yourself, but if not, 46 CFR 10.109 might help.

3 Likes

I have renewed my MMC. Does that count as renewing your OICEW?

Does your MMC have OICEW in it?

If you don’t know this I’m not sure you’re ready to be a first.

6 Likes

:man_facepalming:

Yes, my new MMC has the OICEW in it. So, I should be good then?

Thank you all for the helpful comments.