100 Ton upgrade requirements for 350 Ton Boat

To all:

Currently I have a Master 100 Ton. By next June I will be the Captain for a new 330 Ton Power Boat.
The Boat will operate in the US and Europe.
What courses and training are required in order to upgrade my license?

I have just joined this Forum. I did look for similiar links but did not find any that fit my license questions.
Thank you.

Captain Byron

What kind of boat doing what? A little more info would help.

Nemo

Thank you for your post.
The boat will be a power boat. It is being built for a private owner. He intends to use the boat for pleasure for a couple of years then explore placing the boat into charter work.
It will be 115 feet, all steel with Aluminum Super Structure.

Sailor,

My understanding is that if the boat is not “for hire”…in other words, you’re not carrying people or cargo for money, you don’t need a license. If the owner decides to charter the boat, as in people paying him for the boat and him paying you to run it, I believe you’ll need a 500 ton ticket. And if that’s the case, in addition, you’ll need full STCW certification to run it past near coastal waters, i.e. outside of 200 miles.

You’ll have to check the specific country’s regs to be sure over there.

I’m certainly no authority on these matters, but there are people on this board that are. Somebody will come in with good information. They always do…usually to correct ME!:o I don’t mind a bit. I take direction well.

Good luck,

Nemo

I understand the insurance company will require a licensed Captain.

Now you’ve gotten completely out of my limited area of knowledge! An insurance company may require an Unlimited Oceans and a ticket to fly the Shuttle.

You can run a 180 ft. crew boat in the Gulf with a 100 ton license (I mean legally; it doesn’t mean you can get it done).

These companies may be “self-insured”. I truly don’t know. But somebody else will chime in.

Nemo