Zero applicants for Cal Maritime cruise officers

Hi everyone,

I’m a soon to be graduate of Cal Maritime. Someone in authority confided to me yesterday how we need 18 licensed engineers for two cruises this summer, yet we have not even received a single application for the month the bulletin has been posted.

Supposedly we will still sail no matter what, just that they’ll pull teachers from practical training to stand watches and we’ll have to take a separate class later. There are many of us who could graduate this summer if we had enough faculty.

Just want to pull attention to a job that you can very likely receive for our summer cruises, and also help cadets to graduate on time. Thanks.

I went on the Cal Maritime website, and can not find any link to job openings, maybe that is your schools problem.

1 Like

Yeah seriously. I found the posting, but the job title on the site is Cruise Adjunct, and on google job search it’s Maritime (103265 - Cruise Adjunct, 20/21 - Eng. Tech.)

Not saying that’s the sole reason for lack of interest, but if they want people searching for Marine Engineer jobs to find it, or Watchstander, or 3rd/2nd/1st A/E they might consider putting that in the title. (WTF is a cruise adjunct)

Offhand, I’ve always wanted to go back and do one of those trips as a watch officer, just never could commit the time.

1 Like

For those interested…
Engineers:
https://www.csum.edu/hr/media/103265cruise-adjunct-et-2021.pdf
Mates:
https://www.csum.edu/hr/media/103264-cruise-adjunct-mt-2021.pdf

Listing of Openings:
https://www.csum.edu/hr/careers/faculty.html

Curious regaarding this post. Something sounds a bit sketchy. Just one mans op.

My guess is that these jobs just don’t pay enough.

1 Like

If it is anything like the other school ships it is along the lines of a few hundred ($100-$300)/day.at most. Something that retirees looking to give back, or make a little beer money on the side do.