Yachty thinking of Crossover

Hello all. Not sure how I found this forum, but it seems like a great source for Commercial info.

I’ve got 10 years experience in the private / yacht world. I HAD a 50t USCG NC ticket, but it didn’t mean anything to my last employer so he never allowed me to continue my education and keep my stuff current. (I managed a private estate during the winter and only had 3 months / year on the water on a 16 ton sail) Now I’m looking at getting back onto the water full time, and boy is this going to be a jagged pill to swallow.

I’m looking at a National Mate 50 GRT Ocean and could gun-deck a 100, but not sure my self respect will allow me to be a gunner. I know it’s disgustingly common in the yachting world at all but the highest levels.

I want to pile on hours and tonnage, and am open to ideas / suggestions. I’m even looking at the Water Taxi in Ft. Lauderdale, although I’m hoping I get on the Lake Michigan fast ferry. I don’t really want to get on a yacht as a mate although it comes with a paycheck. I don’t want “dock time”. I want to every day I’m on the water to count…

My end result would be to DPO or run on a Supply Vessel…I think…I’d rather be moving than sitting on a rig…I think…(not really interested in engineering)

I know it’s going to take time, and training. I’m 31 years old, and am looking at this as a career move long term commitment. (I’d like to retire before I die) I want the commercial schedule that I know a lot of guys enjoy and the paychecks aren’t bad looking either. I know what life aboard is like, and know I can handle it. I also like the hierarchy of the programs to be completely honest. My girl likes the idea of commercial schedules better than the schedules that coincide with service to the 1%. I know these kind of girls can be hard to come by. I think this life would lead us to live wherever we wanted, instead of being married to specific harbors / areas.