Would this be a good engine design?

Would this be a good engine design (I’m not a marine engineer, but I have knowledge from hanging around with my Dad, a former shipmaster, now a marine surveyor, and his colleagues. Feel free to call me crazy if that’s what my idea is)?

After the second stroke of a two stroke diesel, spray water into the cylinder. This will accomplish two things: engine cooling and use the heat that would normally be wasted to provide an extra power stroke. And the steam exhaust will provide extra boost to the turbocharger.

The water needed could come from the reverse osmosis system, so minimal weight would have to be added, just a few extra pipes. The engine would need to retrofitted w/ fuel injectors and a timing system, though.

Less fuel will need to be used, meaning less shipping costs. And the engine will last longer.

I got my idea from this article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crower_six_stroke

I’m not sure whether I should pursue a career on deck, or in the engine room. I only have second-hand knowledge of both, so could you guys enlighten me on what a career in marine engineering is like?

I don’t think this would work well. As you cool the exhaust it would become more dense and therefore you wouldn’t have as much flow over the turbo. Who knows though, it might be offset by the steam expansion. You’d have to worry too much about water droplets hitting the turbo blades though. The piston and cylinder jacket already recieve enough cooling that injecting water into the cylinder isn’t necessary. Internal combustion engines have been around for awhile so chances are someone thought of this awhile ago and it hasn’t proven to be cost efficient.

If you are considering a career in the engine department this will be a good way to start your education.