Which path to take?

Ahoy all, I am new to the forum and wondering if anyone has any advice on career paths for a 100 ton captain. I know we are a dime a dozen, and I am in the process of renewing my license for the first time after 5 years. I now have over 1080 days of seatime accumulated, but mostly on smaller tonnage boats. I have been working on sailing vessels for the last five years and am thinking about switching over to workboats, but not sure if I should get my AB first, or something else. I would like to find work in the Seattle area locally or possibly Alaska. The whole USCG commercial license system is so overwhelming to me, and if anyone has any advice for someone in my shoes as to a good path to take in this job market, I would be grateful. What would you do? i.e; should I get an AB job, take some classes and try to get a higher grade mates license, or just work for several more years and then jump up to a 500 ton? Thanks!

I’da lika to helpa you, buta I donna speaka da Eenglesh too good

Get an AB, go from there

[QUOTE=z-drive;152340]Get an AB, go from there[/QUOTE]

ana AyaBee?..whatsa dat?

sorry fora me speekinga da badda Eenglish…I’mma fromma da ol cuntrie

I learna to speeka Eenaglish fromma wachin dose Amerikan TeeVee shos…

In Juneau Alaska my old company needs about 6 more 100 ton captains to run whale watching tourboats for the summer. Dont know if youd be interested in that or not but if you are and have everything up to date shoot me a PM and i can help you get into touch with them. Would probably pay 22.50 an hour plus tips which works out to about 40$ an hour or so and you work about 55 to 70 hours a week.

Ahoy Schoonloon,