Which one first?

I have a 100 ton Master/Near Coastal. In order to go to work in the oil patch, should I get STCW certification or AB Limited next. I’m not sure about the order in which to get this training. Any advice would be appreciated.<br><br>Thanks

What do you want to do, sail on your license or get an AB job on an OSV? Do you have time on vessels over 100 tons?<br><br>I don’t think you need STCW to run Near Coastal vessels under 100 GRT, and you can’t get an AB Limited unless you have time on vessels over 100 gross tons. Find a job as a crewboat captain and then take it from there. Pester the training department and take all the classes you can courtesy of the company. STCW on the street will cost you $25,000.00. Let someone else pay for it as part of your employment package.

Thanks for the reply Doug,<br><br>I have about 2500 days on boats over 500 tons, just not recently.<br><br>$25,000 for STCW??? Wow, I don’t want it that bad.<br><br>I guess the AB isn’t worth anything without STCW unless I’m going for a 500 ton or bigger license. So I’ll have to see what I can find in the way of 100 ton jobs and a get-paid-while-training deal.<br><br>Thanks again…

Don’t discount your prior seatime, it MAY count but not for recency, depending on what type it was. <br><br>Nothing is worth anything without STCW. STCW is your most important document these days. Isn’t it fun?<br><br>Good luck!<br><br>D

<P>We could help you better if you would give us more info. <br>like, are you looking for a a/b job or looking for a 100T capt job.<br><br>also STCW classes can be taken for alot less that 25K at a state community college</P>

Of course I’d like to put my 100 ton license to work in the GOM or elsewhere, but I was just wondering if having the STCW and/or AB would make me more “marketable”. Like a lot of other people these days, I’m looking for a long term, stable job with good benefits that pays pretty good. <br>That’s not asking too much…is it? ;-)<br>