What's it like to test for 500 ton?

I’ve finally finished all my classes for 500 Ton Master (I hold a 150 Ton Master now) But I have not tested at REC since I got my license 15 years ago. What is the process?, How long do I have after I get approval? Can I take the exams one at a time with a couple of weeks between tests?. I have a set of Murphy Books but am unsure how to start, after all there huge. Should I also get a CD from Hawsepipe or someone else? Any help or suggestions from mariners in the know would be appreciated. BTW I tried sleeping with Vol. 4 RULES OF THE ROAD under my pillow, alas it didnt work.

Inland, Near Coastal, or Oceans? There is a big difference between inland and the others since you are subject to STCW.

You have to take a minimum of 2 modules per day. You must take all your modules on concurrent days. The testing room opens at 0700 and closes at 1500 (maybe 1530). You must take all the exams in one week. (I.E. you cant start on friday and end on tuesday). You can take more than 2 modules in one day if you want. If you fail anything your have 90 days to retake what you failed. You must do all your retakes on concurrent days if you have multiple modules to retake. You only have to take 1 module per day on retakes. You have 3 tries total to pass everything otherwise you have to wait, reapply, and take everything over again.

I took 3 modules the first day, 2 modules the second day, and had Terrestrial Nav on the last day by itsself. I did this on purpose since T-Nav was giving me problems. I failed t-nav by one question and retook it a few days later and passed with 100%.

Opps, I guess it might have helped to mention I’ll be testing for Near Coastal (oceans someday). I was hoping I could spread the exams out over a longer period of time. How did you prepare? The “teach the test” schools do mariners a disservice, I am at a loss as how to learn all the material on the test.