What is the most stupid sign on board?

On one particular Exxon Mobil VLCC there was a sign on a door stating “THIS DOOR MUST REMAIN CLOSED AT ALL TIMES, BUT MAY BE OPENED MOMENTARILY FOR ACCESS”.
Because it was a door, I figured it could be used as it couldn’t be locked (duh!!). A sign saying ‘Keep Closed’ would have been easily understood.
No doubt you guys have seen some classics too!

2 Likes

I had a sign very similar to this on an ECR door once but an internal auditor made me peel it off.

images

1 Like

Was it on the inside or outside of the ER door?!!! haha

4 Likes

Maybe a good explanation of why I had such a hard time getting some of the officers to make engine room rounds.

1 Like

The signs affixed to the anchor winches that said “Certified Anchor Winch for Use in Navigation” I feel like dropping the anchor means you’ve given up on navigation…

Presumably, the winch can be used to hoist the anchor as well. I’m not an expert, but this seems like a promising first step if one would like to commence navigationing.

6 Likes

I’ve seen some vessels that have been working in parts of Asia where they have to put up signs to tell people not to stand on the toilet seat with their feet and squat when using it. There are some people who have never used a conventional toilet before only the squatting ones. The sign was of a person squatting with a red circle around it and line through it.

People were actually standing on the toilet seats to squat and breaking them, you could see shoe prints around the rim of the toilet.

4 Likes

On a rig the Bargemaster insisted on showing me a sign that upset him.
Apparently there is a rule somewhere that fire doors that should be kept closed at all time must have a small glass window so you can see if anybody is on the other side, before opening it. (HSE?)

On this rig the doors to the internal staircase in the accommodation did not have such a window.