Using slave ships (cruiselines) as a method to obtaining AB or QMED rank?

I’ve been doing some research into a career as a seaman. I’m 37 and at a crossroads. With the poor economy I’m trying to find a way forward in an occupation I can tolerate. I’m not a people person, which is one thing that attracts me to this profession. Of course the high pay and time off does too. I’ve worked in the construction industry. I’m a professional, conscientious hard worker and can work as part of a team. I would be torn between selecting the engineering or deckhand path. I’ve got a few questions if anyone has the time or inclination to answer: 1.) Is taking advantage of cruiselines (Royal Carribbean, Carnival, Princess, etc.) as a method to obtain initial seafaring experience a viable option. Being registered in foreign countries, I know that their pay and working conditions are complete GARBAGE and they don’t like hiring Americans because most of us wouldn’t tolerate their squalid business practices. Could I use them to obtain 6 months of seafaring experience in order to qualify as an able seaman or a QMED so that I stand a chance of getting hired somewhere? 2.) Hardly anyone seems interested in hiring ordinary seamen or wipers. My online research has yielded absolutely nothing in the form of companies who offer training apprenticeships for OS or wipers to gain the next rank. My only option seems to be attending a maritime academy and shelling out 5 figures for it. If it has to be that way, from a percentage standpoint, how confident should I be in being successful in securing immediate employment afterwards, at what seems to be the going rate of $280 per day? Also I have a college degree, I don’t think it’ll be much use for what I want to achieve, is it? 3.) Being from the west, I prefer to remain in the west (OR, WA, CA). How plentiful are the opportunities in the Pacific compared to the oil opportunities in the Gulf? Is the pay the same? Thanks in advance for any input you hav