USACE Deckhand Positions for Vets

If you’re a vet, here is a Army Corps Deckhand position for vets only:

https://www.usajobs.gov/GetJob/ViewDetails/422655200

[QUOTE=HooliganMariner;175090]If you’re a vet, here is a Army Corps Deckhand position for vets only:

https://www.usajobs.gov/GetJob/ViewDetails/422655200[/QUOTE]

It’s not really veterans only, the government can’t advertise a job that way. Typically Federal jobs are advertised as “open” meaning anyone can apply, or, like this one, as “Merit Promotion.” Most jobs are advertised as both. “Merit Promotion” means any current civilian employees of the Federal government, former employees eligible for reinstatement (e.g. they were laid off), or certain veterans. But, it will still only be available to a limited number of the audience here.

Well, I fit in the vet category & I appreciate the posting by HooliganMariner. Does anyone happen to know how long it takes for the USACE to fill these positions?

I graduated from a maritime academy a couple months ago & have been having a devil of a time finding employment. I put in an application with MSC (terribly slow process, in addition to hiring department incompetence), I’ve become an applicant with a union (I don’t have Tankerman PIC, so they said don’t bother holding my breath), & I’ve visited almost every tugboat & commercial vessel outfit from Maine to New Jersey in person (almost to a man, they just say to fill out the online application, then shut the door in your face. Wasn’t worth the gas money driving down). The Oil & Gas downturn is turning out to be a reall killer on the newbie job hunt.

They have to fill them within 90 days of the closing unless they get an extension by OPM. I’ve been a boat captain with the corps for two years now. It took me about 2 months to get through the process. Licensed positions are more competitive because less vets have a license. 99.9% of USACE unlicensed deckhands are vets. It’s hard to beat a 5 or 10 point vet.