USA & STCW endorsement for Double Citizenship

Hello Everyone ,

I have a particular story , I was born in the United States but raised in Brazil. I graduated in Nautical Sciences in the Brazilian Merchant Marine Academy 14 years ago and currently I hold a Master’s license and work in the offshore industry as Chief Mate & DPO / AHTS / PSV operations in Brazilian Waters;
I kindly would like to know if it’s possible to get an USA & STCW endorsement x validating since I have double citizenship;
If anyone could help I really appreciate !

No, but as a dual citizen you are eligible to apply for and test for a US license. You’d have to take the STCW classes at a US training center but I’m not sure how the assessments not a part of classes would be handled.

@jdcavo might know.

Thanks a lot !

All assessments have to be met, either in a course or “in-service” on a vessel. Note that for Chief Mate, the training and assessment for both Chief Mate/Master and OICNW must be met. Many of the OICNW assessments can be done in courses, but given the relatively few courses for Chief Mate/Master (as compared to OICNW), many will need to be done on a vessel.

Do they all have to be signed off by a US licensed person?

How about vice versa? Any dual US/Canadians get their Canadian STCW after getting a US license? I inquired years ago when I was a 2nd mate and was told come back when you’re a Master but I never did. Just curious how hard it would be to run a Canadian small passenger vessel in retirement if you have a US unlimited master’s.

I know Canadian, Brit, Kiwi, Irish, and Norwegian dual nationals licensed in the US and elsewhere.