Union halls

So for all the union guys, how long did you have to wait in the halls before landing your fist job?

Zero. But times were good back then. None of this 9% unemployment making a mess of things. You can’t compare the waiting you may be doing now to the waiting we did years ago.

Yeah I hear ya, my buddy is in the sup he waited about six weeks so hopefully I wouldn’t be longer than that but I will see hopefully if everything works out.

Longest I ever waited was 5 days. I wasn’t picky when shipping out of the hall. Now I have a perm job and don’t hang out in the hall much. Last time I was in there though they couldn’t fill some good jobs. Right now shipping is good. This is for the MEBA

Yeah I dont plan on being picky at all, just trying to get an idea from those with experiance. I’m just getting into this I go in to get my twic on wed and have my stcw trainin in a week. I’ve been a carpenter for 16+ years , but have also worked on fishing boats and spent a lot of my life on the water. Please excuse my stupid questions as I’m sure I’ll have a lot of them for you guys.

For my first try I went to the union hall in fortlauderdale, fl . I was talking to the about joining he then replied that its impossible and if I did join to get used to the program that was on t.v " judge judy" meaning i was going to be there for a long time… anyone here currently at the s.florida hall? coming from downtown miami all the way to the union hall is one hell of a drive especially if i have to be there few times a week hoping to find work. which brings to me is it worth plus having to pay the $350 for physical, drug test and having to drive there with the high gas prices. compared to trying to just fax applications to companies online. btw I am goin toward wiper would like to know how things work, but aint picky either.