Tug jobs, what to pack?

Okay so here’s a question that’s probably begging for a sarcastic answer but in all seriousness, I just got hired on and am shipping out soon I was wondering what I should pack with me for a 14-30 day tug trip?

That depends greatly on where you are going…Alaska, Equatorial Africa, GoM- or maybe you are going from one of these places to the other?

If you are new to tugs, don’t forget to bring some tough skin, a sense of humor and bar of soap.

Normal work clothes. Rain gear is a must. Knife flashlight

Yes I am new to tugs, but not new to work. First trip thanks for the replys any info helps honestly I’m not sure what to expect, I believe I’ll be out by grays harbor Washington

Warm clothes and rain gear.

Alarm Clock…

High rubber boots, and/or a change of dry footware

Cough drops / cough medicine

[QUOTE=captfish;56296]If you are new to tugs, don’t forget to bring some tough skin, a sense of humor and bar of soap.[/QUOTE]

Best advice in the thread. On most tugs, the crews have been working together for a long time and “the new guy” just may be in for a bit of a ride as he fits in. I remember getting my first few trips under my belt, and I also remember breaking in new guys.

If you are new to tugs, don’t forget to bring some tough skin, a sense of humor and bar of soap.[/QUOTE]

That’s a good one and so so true!!

But in all seriousness the high rubber boot are a most for when you make tow.

Good luck!!

I bring a good set of sheets and a pillow case/cover…beats sleeping on the Triscuit like sheets found on some boats! A good flashlight isn’t a bad idea either…

1 Like

Flashlight - Pelican makes a good inherently safe one
Knife - a SHARP knife
Gloves - for handling wire and any other shit that could fuck yer hands up
Foul weather gear that can take a beating.
Clothing - Unsure about PNW, enough to stay warm but deal with Indian Summer