Tug Boat Manning

I hope when the smoke clears with the up coming Inspection of Tugs that there will finally have a regulation on manning of Tugs. And I am not talking about the B.S. that all of these companies come up with.

What do you all think should be required? Here is my thought, mind you I am a Chief Engineer.

Manning for Sea Going ATB’s

Captain
Chief Mate
Second Mate
3 AB / ABT
1 OS
Chief Engineer
2 Assistant Engineers
QMED
and now for the most important
COOK

I last sailed for Maritrans / OSG in the GOM and while I had a licensed Assistand Engineer, there were times that I had to work many hours of UNPAID O/T just to keep up on the all of the equipment on the barge. I considered myself lucky that I had a ABT that enjoyed working with me and that I could trust him to do quite a lot by him self.

There were times that I had to leave the ER un-maned and go up on the barge to do repairs. Now if I had had the extra AE this would have been avoided.

I will be looking forward to what everyone thinks.

Be Safe,

Tugs

Not sure you need that many people, I have done ocean tows with a cook/ab, Ab/engineer, capt, & 2 mates and that was plenty.