Tips and advice for a brand new 3rd Assistant engineer with no experience on ships

Recently, graduated from one of the academies and I was way in over my head while I was working my first and second job. So, I am looking for some advice and even some reading material that will help me out. Anything will be helpful and very much appreciated.

1 Like

How to be a third engineer

2 Likes

Osbournes are good books. Also when out to sea look at all the manuals

Are you referring to the Marine Engineer’s Bible?

Modern marine engineers handbook. However I guess they aren’t Osborne anymore but rather now called hunts. Excellent books

Who wouldn’t want to work with a “cool engineer?” But seriously. I’m no engineer but from what I have gleaned from the ones I’ve worked with over the last couple decades there are a few key traits they all seem to be looking for. Solid mechanical skills are the top one. I hear too many complaints of engineers who apparently could pass the exam but can’t turn a wrench or trouble shoot issues with various systems in the plant.

Second would be junior engineers that know when to ask for help when they are indeed over their head. I share this on the deck side and recognize a good officer when they simply ask how I would prefer certain things are done. It varies from ship to ship and those that understand this are almost always successful in my book.

Lastly, retain everything you learn and apply it to every subsequent job you are tasked with. No one should expect a new third to know everything but you have to learn quickly and not need constant retraining on routine tasks. This may not have been your problem but when you’re working with people who have been doing the job for a long time you may not get much on the job training. We simply don’t have time. That’s what you’re cadet time was supposed to have been for.

Good luck

Ok, I got both of them. I will hit those books again. Thanks.