Tender/diver O.S. seatime?

hey,

I am going to dive school right now in seattle at DIT and graduating in two months.

I was planning on picking up my Ordinary Seaman along with my TWIC card before I head down to the gulf just in case it came in handy.

I had a couple questions for the vets out there-

Will getting my OS open any doors for employment during the times there is not diving/tending work?

can I use any of my time as a tender towards an AB?

thanks for any info…

First, say hi to Willy for me, assuming he’s still there. He’ll know who I am.
I graduated DIT in 76, went to the North Sea, got work in two weeks and five days later was in the water. Upon return to Seattle in 78 I did a number of things. Working for Crowley was one–towboats to Dutch Harbor, which I was able to do because I already had AB papers. Around that time I went to the Seattle CG office to see if my offshore oil time counted as sea time. The guy behind the counter at that time was a young guy, very hard, and hard to deal with. He may have been (I’m not sure) the very guy that a few years later was accused of taking bribes in return for a certain laxity. He would not, himself, ok my oil patch time. When he said it had to be time underway, I countered with the truth that underway time was precisely that time when most workers, even the vessel ABs, did the least work. And anyway, what did it matter if you were anchored to buoys when you moved about just as if you were underway and, when the weather got up, you moved off in a tow? And there was the truth, too, that most of both the tenders and divers did far more seamanship work–rigging, moving of lines, handling of deck machinery–than anyone else on the vessel. That was especially true in the North Sea of the time, a time when people weren’t so touchy about division of labor and when there were no unions, no hard hats, no life jackets to fiddle with. Noone said anything if you carried a wicked diver knife or stood 150 feet above the sea on