Tankerman PIC Endorsement

Howdy folks!

So I’m a 2019 academy grad and lately I’ve decided that I would like to get on tankers. Since graduation I’ve been an LW with AMO and have yet to get on a ship unfortunately. I figured getting my PIC would open some more doors, and read through the other thread on obtaining Tankerman PIC trying to figure out how to go about that, however I failed to see any process or suggestions to getting the PIC.
I apologize for any ignorance, I’m still new to the industry and am hoping to get some actual advice from some of you who have been out there. Not looking for a bunch of people to say how difficult it is or that it can’t be done nowadays, I’d just like to know how to get it done and if there are any programs offered or if there are any companies looking for people trying to get PIC. The other thread mentioned SIU but I’m unclear how that would work with my status with AMO so if anyone could talk to me about this as well it would be much appreciated.

Thank you guys in advance, try to keep this thread civil and constructive.

To get the PIC you need 90 days on a tanker, and to have participated in 10 cargo transfers, see 46 CFR 13.203. That’s why you didn’t get it when you graduated. But you probably did get Tankerman-Assistant because you took a PIC course. So you may need to sail unlicensed in order to get that tanker time and the cargo transfers. If you get that withing 5 years of graduation, you won’t need another course for Tankerman-PIC, the one you took at the academy will be sufficient (make sure to save the separate course certificate they gave you). After 5 years, you’ll need to retake the course. Depending on what academy you went to, the course you took might also give you credit for 2 of the 10 cargo transfers.

4 Likes

About as clear and non-biased answer you will get from jdcavo. Read it twice and good luck in your career.

1 Like