Steersmans apprentice

I have a 200 ton master license and would like to get my steersman apprentice. I have towing experience working on deck as a AB, however it is from a long time ago. What would be the best way to go about getting steersman. Do many of the inland towing companies hire steersman apprentice? All of my time over the last 10 years have been on crew boats. Thanks

[QUOTE=Dawn patrol;141062]I have a 200 ton master license and would like to get my steersman apprentice. I have towing experience working on deck as a AB, however it is from a long time ago. What would be the best way to go about getting steersman. Do many of the inland towing companies hire steersman apprentice? All of my time over the last 10 years have been on crew boats. Thanks[/QUOTE]

Steersman/Apprentice Mate requires a total of 18 months, with 12 of them on towing vessels. 3 months of the total has to be in the past 3 years, but it doesn’t have to be the time on towing vessels. So if you have 3 months on deck on any vessel in the past 3 years, your old time can be used.

Thank You Mr. Cavo for the help.

Im currently looking for information as well i just received my license. And im looking for some one to train me? do anyone know any company thats has a steersman program. i tried higman but cannot get in touch with anyone.

[QUOTE=Jvm33;166157]Im currently looking for information as well i just received my license. And im looking for some one to train me? do anyone know any company thats has a steersman program. i tried higman but cannot get in touch with anyone.[/QUOTE]

Very few companies that I’m aware of carry a steersman, especially in this economy. Usually you work as a deck hand and if you bust ass and the captain likes you then you train during your off watch.

• Updated - - -